What is AMRUT?

List of AMRUT cities


    for Amrut City Proposal Management and Reporting Center

    It helps you to do the following:

    • * Create and Submit Annexures
    • * Monitor and Report project progress
    • * Create Fund request proposals
    • * Manage Score card

AMRUT stand for Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) which is a National Mission launched by the Ministry of Urban Development of the Government of India in June 2015.

The purpose of Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) is to

  • ensure that every household has access to a tap with assured supply of water and a sewerage connection;
  • increase the amenity value of cities by developing greenery and well maintained open spaces (e.g. parks); and
  • reduce pollution by switching to public transport or constructing facilities for non-motorized transport (e.g. walking and cycling). All these outcomes are valued by citizens, particularly women, and indicators and standards have been prescribed by the Ministry of Urban Development (MoUD) in the form of Service Level Benchmarks (SLBs).

    Thrust areas

  • The Mission will focus on the following Thrust Areas:

      • water supply,
      • sewerage facilities and septage management,
      • storm water drains to reduce flooding,
      • pedestrian, non-motorized and public transport facilities, parking spaces, and
      • enhancing amenity value of cities by creating and upgrading green spaces, parks and recreation centers, especially for children.


  • Five hundred cities will be taken up under AMRUT. The list of cities will be notified at an appropriate time. The category of cities that will be covered in the AMRUT is given below:

      • All Cities and Towns with a population of over one lakh with notified Municipalities, including Cantonment Boards (Civilian areas),
      • All Capital Cities/Towns of States/ UTs,
      • All Cities/ Towns classified as Heritage Cities by MoUD under the HRIDAY Scheme,
      • Thirteen Cities and Towns on the stem of the main rivers with a population above 75,000 and less than 1 lakh, and
      • Ten Cities from hill states, islands and tourist destinations (not more than one from each State).

  • Mission Components

    • The components of the AMRUT consist of capacity building, reform implementation, water supply, sewerage and septage management, storm water drainage, urban transport and development of green spaces and parks. During the process of planning, the Urban Local Bodies (ULBs) will strive to include some smart features in the physical infrastructure components. The details of the Mission components are given below.

      Water Supply

      • Water supply systems including augmentation of existing water supply, water treatment plants and universal metering.
      • Rehabilitation of old water supply systems, including treatment plants.
      • Rejuvenation of water bodies specifically for drinking water supply and recharging of ground water.
      • Special water supply arrangement for difficult areas, hill and coastal cities, including those having water quality problems (e.g. arsenic, fluoride)


      • Decentralised, networked underground sewerage systems, including augmentation of existing sewerage systems and sewage treatment plants.
      • Rehabilitation of old sewerage system and treatment plants.
      • Recycling of water for beneficial purposes and reuse of wastewater.


      • Faecal Sludge Management- cleaning, transportation and treatment in a cost-effective manner.
      • Mechanical and biological cleaning of sewers and septic tanks and recovery of operational cost in full.

      Storm Water Drainage

      • Construction and improvement of drains and storm water drains in order to reduce and eliminate flooding.

      Urban Transport

      • Ferry vessels for inland waterways (excluding port/bay infrastructure) and buses.
      • Footpaths/walkways, sidewalks, foot over-bridges and facilities for non-motorised transport (e.g. bicycles).
      • Multi-level parking.
      • Bus Rapid Transit System (BRTS).

      Green space and parks

      • Development of green space and parks with special provision for child-friendly components.

      Reforms management & support

      • Support structures, activities and funding support for reform implementation.
      • Independent Reform monitoring agencies.

      Capacity Building

      • This has two components- individual and institutional capacity building.
      • The capacity building will not be limited to the Mission Cities, but will be extended to other ULBs as well.
      • Continuation of the Comprehensive Capacity Building Programme (CCBP) after its realignment towards the new Missions.

      Indicative (not exhaustive) list of inadmissible components

      • Purchase of land for projects or project related works,
      • Staff salaries of both the State Governments/ULBs,
      • Power,
      • Telecom,
      • Health,
      • Education, and
      • Wage employment programme and staff component.